

Hart County Board of Assessors P.O. Box 810 194 Cade Street Hartwell, GA 30643 (706) 376-3997

Board Members: David Thompson, Chairman Steve Carswell, Vice chairman Bill Myers Jerry Hanneken David Setchel

The Hart County Board of Assessors met Tuesday, August 20th, 2019 for a scheduled meeting at the Hart County Appraisal Department. Those in attendance were Board of Assessor members David Thompson, Steve Carswell, David Setchel and Jerry Hanneken. Wayne Patrick, Chief Appraiser, Shane Hix and Nikki Graham were present for the office staff.

Mr. Myers was absent for the meeting due to illness.

Nikki Graham took minutes for the meeting.

Mr. Thompson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Mr. Wayne Patrick opened the meeting with a prayer.

The minutes for the meeting on July 16th, 2019 were not approved in the meeting due to lack of quorum of those in attendance at the July 16th, 2019 meeting.

Mr. Thompson requested a motion to approve the agenda. Motion was made by Mr. Carswell. Mr. Setchel seconded, and the motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Shane Hix presented 6 automobile appeals to the board for consideration. After discussion among the board a motion was made by Mr. Carswell to accept the staff's recommendation. Mr. Setchel seconded, and the motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Wayne Patrick, chief appraiser, presented a CUV breach without penalty on parcel C45-042. He explained to board that the reason for release is due to medical issues. He also stated that there is a letter attached from the property owner's doctor explaining the medical issues. After much discussion among the board a motion was made by Mr. Hanneken. Mr. Carswell seconded, and the motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Patrick presented his monthly report, which concluded that the BOE hearings have started and are going well. Mr. Patrick stated that Nikki Graham and Zach Marcengill will be starting the 2020 review of the city limits in the next week. Mr. Patrick told the board that he would be emailing them a copy of his review plan for this year in the next few days.

Mr. Patrick briefed the Board on the 2020 budget. Mr. Patrick stated that the budget was essentially the same as 2019. After a brief discussion the board decided to table the

approval of the budget until next meeting, when Mr. Patrick will submit to the BOA a 2020 budget document.

Mr. Patrick's monthly report is attached to the minutes.

In the assessor's reports Mr. Hanneken presented a list of names, he had obtained from Mr. Frankie Gray, Clerk of Courts, for the board to look over and consider for calling as potential board members for the upcoming year.

With there being no new business, old business or public comment, Mr. Thompson requested a motion to adjourn the public meeting and enter into executive session, to discuss a routine personnel task, at 10:57 a.m. Mr. Setchel made such motion. Mr. Carswell seconded, and the motion passed 4-0.

Motion was made by Mr. Carswell to exit executive session at 11:10. Mr. Setchel seconded, and the motion was passed 4-0.

Motion was made by Mr. Hanneken to adjourn the public meeting. Mr. Carswell seconded, and the motion was passed 4-0.

The meeting adjourned at 11:10 a.m.

David Thompson, Chairman	Steve Carswell, Vice Chairman
Jerry Hanneken	Bill Myers
 David Setchel	

^{*} Documents are attached to the original minutes in the Tax Assessors Office.